Reminds me Home.

An Ounce of Home: you’re embarking on a yearlong round-the-world adventure, and can take only one small object with you to remind you of home. What do you bring along for the trip?

Home is where the heart is… many would agree. I do too. I am the kind a person who prefers meeting someone in person than talking on the phone for hours (it has its own advantages though). Also, I am someone who doesn’t attach sentimental value to every other thing that he sees or gets as a token. Although, few things that played a major role in my life are the ones that I am really attached to. Some thoughtful gifts are very important to me as well. 

If I am on a year long journey and I’ll be away from my loved ones for that long I don’t need anything to remind me of my home. I mean how can one forget their home?? What I’ll really need is… something to remind me of the people in that home. It is a year long journey, round-the-world, there will be numerous occasions when something or the other would remind me of my home. I think memories are enough to remind you of the good times and it isn’t necessary that you carry a material to remind you of your loved ones.

Anyways, one small object like, a family photo, would be more than sufficient for me. The main thing is… We might not be living in the world like they showed in the cartoon series – The Jetsons – our cars do not fly yet… But, we do have mobile phones, tabs and other gadgets smarter than ever. Guess what?? They aren’t used just to call people you can store pictures – like a ton – in them and then there’s social networking and video calling etc.

My question is, do we really need some small object to remind us of our homes?? Everything  is a click or tap away except for your treasured items.

One thought on “Reminds me Home.

  1. Pingback: An Ounce of Home | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

Leave a Reply

