I hear you.

Full Disclosure

A mad scientist friend offers you a chip that would allow you to know what the people you’re talking to are thinking. The catch: you can’t turn it off. Do you accept the chip?

To be able to hear everyone’s thoughts… Wow!! you could avoid so many misunderstandings and keep others always happy. It could help us stay away from trouble by listening to some one planning on something big and bad or mischievous.

But, not being able to turn it off, is too big of a price for being out of trouble both emotional and physical type. I believe some thing’s are better left unsaid. Not every “why?” has an explanation and not every thing should be reasoned out before it’s right time. Imagine yourself, talking to someone on your birthday and you find out about a party your friends want to surprise you with. It won’t be much of a surprise anymore, right? And what about the judgmental people?? They are opinionated and they might have an opinion of me that I won’t like. I’m better off without knowing all of that.

I’ve lived a normal life without this awesome chip and I am fine with the – make mistakes and learn cycle. To hear everything that the other person, in the conversation, has in their mind… to me personally can be deafening and maddening; I won’t be able to hear my own thoughts and that is the most important thing. I mean, we should listen to ourselves, follow our instincts. We do not need any chip to keep others happy or to keep away from trouble. So, unless it has an “off switch” I am not accepting the chip. Who doesn’t like a bit of help every now and then.

 

Leave a Reply

