Couldn’t Watch It.

When was the last time you watched something so scary, cringe-worthy, or unbelievably tacky — in a movie, on TV, or in real life — you had to cover your eyes?

The last horror movie that I watched was The Conjuring… Man, did I like it?? I totally did. It was meaningfully scary with a simple plot and the best part, minimal use of blood and gore. Although, the scene where an apparition literally vomits a stream of blood and mucous into the mouth of the female lead of the movie, while she wakes up from her sleep, was the yuckiest of all scenes. I can describe the scene so nicely because, I watched it with my eyes open and I remember it so vividly.

Oh, now I remember, It’s about May ’14 I was with my friends, in a lab for a class, and out of boredom we were watching discovery channel videos in HD on one of the phones. The video was about a caterpillar that was attacked by a parasite. And as the video progressed it was nothing but squeamish. The parasite lays its eggs inside the larva and the time lapse shows the eggs turning into full grown insects (like 20 – 30 tiny worms in total) and coming out of the caterpillar by eating it. And the caterpillar still lives and dies only after forming a protective covering (cocoon) for its killers. It does so because of some chemical that the parasite releases causing the poor larva to go crazy. The nature and its facets!!

Well, I remember the caterpillar video too and many more unspeakable TV and movie stuff… But, while watching the discovery video I didn’t close my eyes; it wasn’t scary, cringe worthy or tacky but, it sure did make me and my friends lose our appetites for a while.      

Leave a Reply

