Waking up.

New Dawn: How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).


This is easy, the prompt says “Tell Us”. Every prompt with tell us is pretty easy to fill in. Stick to the story – rule doesn’t apply to these. Anyways, as a kid I was a morning person, but now I am the same as every other grad student, I can wake up in to the afternoon, I can sleep at 3 am, I can and did wake up before the sun rise too. How often? Not sure, because it totally depends on what the day demands.

It all began in tenth grade, being awake till 2 am for studying was important (mostly, because the days were just so interesting and distracting to focus on any subject, not that I had too much work). This led to me being sleep deprived. Logical as it sounds the deprivation was followed by sleeping till noon on weekends thus, the vicious cycle began; sleep late and wake up early only to doze off in long boring class-hours and weekends meant sleep to your heart’s content. In the beginning of it all, normally, work or fun would keep me busy till the late hours in night and when there was no work, TV would keep me busy. But slowly It became a habit and from a morning person, in no time, I became a night owl.

To be very specific… For every weekday till May ’14, I had to wake up at the crack of dawn, the birds’ chirping was a signal that I should get ready for college or examination (the sole reason to get up that early). But in the past three months I have not seen the Sun let alone rising Sun because I am vacationing (sort of…  at home, if that counts) and I sleep late to wake up later. 

The last time I woke up early I had a presentation to give and the last time I woke up late (that would be this morning) I was am on a pseudo-vacation. I like both the habits, one allows me to enjoy someone’s birthday at the stroke of 12 or a late night party and the other lets me wake up early for something special.

 

Leave a Reply

