Not cool.

Doppelgänger Alert: You step into an acquaintance’s house for the first time, and discover that everything — from the furniture, to the books, to the art on the wall — is identical to your home. What happens next?


So I visited a friend of mine and to my surprise the walls to the rugs and the furniture to the book case, all of it was an exact copy of my house. A bit taken aback as I was, I really did not know what to feel – be happy, flattered or annoyed? Although my first feeling was that of annoyance but I did not react. I am supposed to stay calm and composed no matter what, right? So I thought, “I will handle this maturely and in a sophisticated manner – by avoiding anger”, and chose the high road.

As I was trying my best to avoid the anger and focus on the tea, the main reason of the visit, the friend started telling me the stories of his books, that were same as mine, and he went on to explaining the reason why he loved them. Suddenly he said, “Is it not funny, how you have the same things as mine?” I  was almost done, there and then like a volcano I was to burst out of anger. But I still maintained my cool. It was not until the tea-plate arrived which made me go bonkers because the cherry on the cake was same crockery and cutlery!!

The same tea bags, the same cups, the spoons, same white sugar cubes, and plain hot water – colourless, odourless water!! the joke isn’t too stretched, is it?  What could have I said or done? Nothing!! So, I said or did nothing. And took the accusations of being a copycat, while all along I have been busy creating my-genuine-self, only to be blamed of being a copy one day. Sad, yes, sad it was and obviously the friendship suffered, but working out the differences is very important and that just makes a relationship even stronger. Confrontation is important and all we can do is give it a try rather than being a pitiful victim. As it’s my story, I did confront and we were friends again, and lived happily ever after.

Copying is a thing that can get to anyone’s nerves. Imitating might be a type of flattery but to project other’s ideas and even style as your own calls only for disrespect and hatred, at least I see it that way. It is just not cool, but then can we really stop it from happening? it is going to happen anyway. And the only way out is to be yourself and let the other person copy because a poser is a poser, they can never be real – liquid cocoa and liquid chocolate might look the same but we all know which one tastes better – I’ll put it that way.

One thought on “Not cool.

  1. Pingback: Provands Lordship | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

