Only If I knew.

Make It Anywhere: “If I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere,” goes the famous song about New York City. Is there a place — a city, a school, a company — about which you think (or thought) the same? Tell us why, and if you ever tried to prove that claim.


There are times in life when you are over the top about everything and for you every cloud has a silver lining. And then again, times that are full of feeling lowest of the low. Although, every low feels like it is the worst one, I am pretty sure it is not the problem that gets bigger, just that we get tired of the fight. It is like… the more you strive the more you thrive, but then comes a moment when all logic seems useless and you feel so stranded in middle of nowhere, helpless, not knowing what to feel, and what to do? All because you lose the interest, you lose the will to keep going on. And you think to yourself, what is the point of the whole struggle, when the next bigger problem is waiting just around the corner?

Those are the times when we come up with such statements. A last effort, if you want to call it that. We know that a single thought can change our pattern of thoughts and that changes our attitude (most important of all). So, “If I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere”. Well, I agree, if I am dealing with some really hard issues and I want a way out, I will definitely base the whole solution of that problem on one single event so that I know when do I begin dealing with it. It is like waiting for the right moment and that takes some patience. Or am I just ignoring the problem so that I won’t have to deal with it? Is it denial?

“If I could get into the best School in town, my life would be set”. “If I get to that city, my job prospects will be better”. It is always about getting a chance to be in a bigger, better place because all it takes is that one little chance. Now the question is, what if that never happens, what if you are not able to get to that best school, city or company? Is it game over or beginning of something new? Will I never be able to solve the problem because the first box in my list is not checked? It only gets more complex!!

I say this should mean the beginning of something new, although a devastated one, still a beginning. So, why base the solution of any problem or any plan on a future event? Wanting more in life is not wrong – To win the race, you have to be in it. But winning is not the only thing, the race should be the actual experience. So, I never did and I won’t because I am scared of saying, “If I get there, I’ll get anywhere”. Mostly because I do not know where do I want to be and even when I have the slightest of idea, I am more in doubts than being satisfied with the decision. Thus, I don’t know anymore whether being “there” will allow me to get “somewhere” or even anywhere for that matter. I do have a few plans I’d like to follow through, but only If I knew they’d workout.

Leave a Reply

