A random word.

Image Search: Pick a random word and do Google image search on it. Check out the eleventh picture it brings up. Write about whatever that image brings to mind.


The prompt sounds like a weird request by someone with no hobbies. Anyways, I did my part of the work because you can not deny it is an interesting prompt in some crazy way. So, I thought for a while and created a unique word for the random image search. I came up with the word SAMDAM!! The word  sam just sprung into my head and only because, it was not as unique or random enough, I thought of another word which somehow was dam.

And in no time I started thinking of a person named Sam, roaming around on a hill station, who wanders into an unknown place intrigued by sounds like that of a water fall, and a heavy mist. He goes deeper into the woods and the mist clears away, only to his disappointment, he realises the sound of the waterfall was actually because of a dam and not because of a natural water source which would have been far more serene. But little did he know his life was about to change forever.

Soon he catches a sight of the clear waters and hears a sweet melody – so captivating that he is literally drawn towards it – he walks towards it, the catchment area. “A girl behind the rocks?? No, it’s a fish, no it’s a girl, no it’s a mermaid!!” He does not believe his eyes at first and approaches her carefully while the mermaid. being afraid yet very fascinated by a human being, hides deeper in the water but gets curious and swims back up only to find the human patiently waiting for her.

The boy introduces himself as Sam and as the mermaid does not speak human she makes a sound and utters the word, “dam”. (Because she is used to people using the word dam a lot at that place and she simply picked it up). They (sam-dam) fall in love and live happily ever after, off-course only after all the epic battles of the humans and the sea creatures. And Suddenly, I realised that is not what the prompt is about. I need to focus on this peculiar prompt not write an imaginary story.

If you ask me, such is the story behind the word samdam. Which is very interesting than the actual task because the eleventh image after the search is that of a girl with a real Google account and I do not plan on going to jail for putting her pictures up in here so I am not sharing the picture. And “what does the image bring to my mind?” Well, nothing because I do not care about some random irrelevant image on the internet. But yeah the prompt inspired me to write a fictive story line for samdam and that was a first and pretty good.

4 thoughts on “A random word.

  1. I really liked the story! Samdam. 🙂 Very nice!

    May I suggest that you widen your writing area on your blog and make the picture part more narrow? The writing on your blog goes over the solid area and into the picture part and it is a little distracting. Or, try out new themes. 🙂

    • Thanks again 😀 and I think the display might be different for different systems because on my laptop the writing is only on the solid background and the pictures are way narrow. But, when I check my blog on a phone it does not display any solid background at all, my post gets really illegible on a phone. I did not know it happens on the computer screens as well.

      Thanks for pointing that out 🙂

Leave a Reply

