Rosetta?

Take That, Rosetta! If you could wake up tomorrow and be fluent in any language you don’t currently speak, which would it be? Why? What’s the first thing you do with your new linguistic skills?


I had no idea what Rosetta was – my best guesses were that it is a human or an AI (artificial intelligence) name. I also thought it was some dialogue from a movie. Oh well, web search suggests that it is like a pack of CDs or something (I am not sure) but a very costly system to learn fluent languages in no time. It does say number one language learning software.

If I wanted to learn a new language, I would follow the age old method of buying relevant books and taking help from the Internet (which we all use and pay for). Why buy such an expensive software? – Unless your boss has demanded of you to learn the language failing to do so would result in you losing your precious job. Ok, still does not make sense to me, why buy something like that?

May be I still believe that, no one but a teacher can teach you things properly. Much better if the teacher’s a native, while learning languages that is the most important thing. The understanding of the grammar does not guarantee fluency in the normal day to day language. Sure the software will make you fluent in the language, but not in the use of it with expressions (If that makes any sense).

We should be grateful that English is an internationally known, very popular and mostly used language because believe me the number of alphabets only increase and pronunciations only get tougher in other languages, mostly the Asian languages. I know Hindi and it has quite a lot of alphabets (or sounds as they are called) and I have been told that in Japanese these only get more complex.

As far as knowing a new language is concerned, English for me was new and still is because I know the language but I can never know it all. It is like I know the words but I do not necessarily know the expressions. And I have learnt and passed my German A1 exam last year. SO, I know what I am saying when I say you can know a language but you can not know it completely unless you meet and learn from a native, for language is an art.

Oh, I would love to get proficient in German, now that I have begun learning it as a hobby. So, I hope to wake up tomorrow and be proficient in speaking and writing good German. What will I do with it? Pass the B1 through C1/C2 exams and flaunt the certificates all around (I am 22 I think I am allowed to act crazy). If no one else my friend Kavya would definitely understand what it feels like to learn a new language all on your own and the strange feeling of accomplishment that you get at the very end, without dumping that much money into a software.

4 thoughts on “Rosetta?

  1. Do you really have no idea what the Rosetta Stone, after which the software was named, actually is? Look it up – I would have inserted a Wikipedia link but I’m on my phone and it’s not really convenient :/

    • Hahaha nope, had no idea what it was because, I had never heard of it before. But yeah I did check it online and now I know it is a software for languages 🙂 Thanks anyways.

      • Oh no no no! I meant the actual stone: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rosetta_Stone
        The stone inscribed with texts in three languages that helped decipher hieroglyphs 🙂
        I was genuinely surprised that you only mentioned the software as the stone itself is super famous – and way more valuable than the software!

        Anyway, good luck with German! I’m learning it as well and it definitely takes some getting used to, but it’s so rewarding!

Leave a Reply

