“I must let you on this…”

Powerful Suggestion: What’s the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you a year (or five, or ten…) ago?


I do have the active sources and, I also have enough advice for now. But I do wonder… had someone asked me not be serious and be completely free-spirited all the time, where would have I been? On a different journey perhaps, a much more adventurous one, but I am content with what ever the way it has turned out. I mean I lived my life as it came my way – learning and growing, but sometimes when I was overwhelmed with the “what ifs”, only good advice helped me out each time.

As of today I do wish someone had told me earlier that, “life doesn’t present us with many opportunities and, the catch is that if you miss these, they might not necessarily repeated again”  Yes, it comes from the Downton Abbey show (Lady Violet to be precise) it is her quote, not the exact thing, but my interpretation of it.  This quote opened my eyes and made me realise to take it easy and tackle life the way it comes because there’s just too much being said than done.

I do not like that, more talk – less action, that is not me. But there’s so much of thinking and discussing.,. looking at the pros and the cons of every other matter/situation etc. So much so that life has become nothing but “a series of problem that we must try and solve” (another quote by her). I had an epiphany, of sorts, a few days ago I was thinking so hard on something that I ran out of all the good and bad, and I questioned myself – is there even a real problem that I am putting my precious time and energy in solving it?

Soon, I realised that I have developed this habit of making every other step of mine a matter of discussion (with myself mostly: retrospection/introspection/self doubt all of that) and too much of it is wrong – Just futile and painful. What ever happened to the leap of faith? Where did it all the good learning and patience go? – Nowhere, I had it in me I was just busy finding out solutions to the “supposed” problem, while I could have simply, like a child, closed my eyes and went with the flow because, if my memory serves me right I never failed with this method in the past – Why doubt now? Just because some birdy told me; “life is a roller coaster and the ride ain’t smooth”.

These were my thoughts, invoked by the amazing quotes I heard on the show. And people say television is an idiot box!! Good that I did not listen to this advice because, call me naive but the character of the Dowager Countess of Grantham (from the above mentioned show) has enlightened me on matters way beyond my age. I guess it all comes down to what advice we choose, and how we interpret and inculcate it in our lives because, it is important to take care of the smaller bits of the bigger picture, the bigger ones would just fall into their place. It always helps to stop whining and do something, right? (another quote of hers).

Leave a Reply

