Like meeting a stranger.

Delayed Contact: How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?


I believe It would be a unique experience. Do I need say more?

If I have known someone for a long time, but I am meeting them the very first time, wait what? There are two possibilities; knowing someone for a long long time but meeting them in person for the first time ever – that would be amazing. But if it is meeting someone for the very first time, then is it not like meeting a stranger? Okay, this prompt has me confused.

Is there something that I am missing? Does the prompt have a deeper meaning? How can someone know their sibling(s) or parents for a long time but meet them the first time? Where were I the whole time, what is going on? This is difficult than calculus. If they are my family then I would have met them already. The only time that I remember I met my parents the first time was 22 years ago – when I was born.

But that day I did not know anyone, and at least for the next three years everyone that I met was new to me. In reference to this memory meeting anyone for the first time was filled with laughter because, they would make weird faces and also say peekaboo; it was pretty good. It was filled with love and happiness.

Oh, now I get it the prompt is deeper. It is referring to the time when I was still a toddler and I had known everyone for a while, but it was not until I had started to create memories, like proper vivid memories. And that is why even after being familiar with everyone, knowing the extended family’s members, on a much deeper level I was actually meeting them the first time. Well, even in that scenario it was great.

So it would be great to meet a stranger who is actually not stranger because, I have known them for a while, but still I am meeting them for the first time. So, yes I would be excited along with being happy about the meeting.

6 thoughts on “Like meeting a stranger.

  1. I think if you only heard about your long lost relative through conversation around the family and have never actually seen them in person and then do one day, that would be an changing experience. I have lots of relatives I’ve never seen but always hear about them through family conversations. It was very weird seeing an entire side of my family I’ve never seen before at my family reunion in 2009.

    • Yeah absolutely. I can understand meeting your own family members but for the first time and that too at a reunion… Wow!! Too much work hehe. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

