Where there is a will there is a way.

This saying has been proving itself to be quite accurate and meaningful for the past one week now, which also happens to be the time period when I did not log in, mostly because ‘my will’ was being given plenty of ‘ways’ that, It kept me busy in choosing an action-plan.

The back story is; I am very new at all the grown up office things and this new life has its own essence. It is not as much fun as hanging out with friends or as limited as attending lectures and giving exams, but yes if you enjoy what you are doing and are being paid for the same, turns out working can be fun after all.

So, I started my first ever job with as much apprehension as any other newbie because I did not really know if my decision was the right one, but considering the economy one has to accept what they are being handed as there are not many options to choose from. And so I did – grab it as it came by.

Well finder is keeper and you have to take chances (oh, that was a different daily prompt). Only these “I did not really think too much about it” actions have very special and surprising results. This kind of thing keeps you on your toes. You are not prepared and that tests you, and not only that, in the process, you also learn a lot.

As I see it we need to grow every day – not just by numbers; in age and weight, but in wisdom and that can not come with calculated steps and plans, it is rather the spontaneous incidents that make us who we are or better yet show us who we truly are.

If I were to talk of my past week and the correlation of it with the title, I would start by mentioning the most important term – business trip. Oh, yes I am new, but my boss thought I could handle an outstation visit and not only that but solve the clients technical issues as well. The moment I got to know about it, I was taken aback. Perhaps I doubted my potential.

I felt the way a person feels on a ride, you know? Scared at first, a little nervous but excited and once it was done, I had a rush, it felt amazing, I mean I accomplished something successfully all by myself (for the first time) and with a little help it went smoothly – I was happy and yet calm.

I did a lot of things for the first time, starting from traveling alone outside the city to meeting strangers, helping them with their problems and in a way making acquaintance with new people. People who really matter for the growth of our business. And come to think of it I usually just keep to myself.

So, my giddiness changed into calmness because I saw the trip as an opportunity and not as a problem, one thought is all it took to calm myself down, and focus on what was important like; preparing the presentations etc. booking tickets, traveling, and majorly looking for solutions so as to make the whole thing a success. And not ponder too much upon the things that could go wrong.

Fear was there, but I chose not to pay attention to it and I had a will to do really good and guess what? I was given a way.

4 thoughts on “Where there is a will there is a way.

  1. I loved your post, I had gone through many such situations in my professional career, but the way you put your experience in words amused me.
    Good luck with more to come.
    Divya

Leave a Reply

