In hindsight.

Stroke of Midnight: Where were you last night at midnight? Would you have wanted to be somewhere else?


 

I like to count it down at home with my family and on phone with friends, my favourite way to celebrate the New Year. Some of you won’t believe that, we do not have a holiday (except in Schools and Colleges) on 31st Dec let alone on 1st of Jan. I had to run from office a little early on 31st and take a leave on the 1st day of the year LOL. What a start! How in the world can someone sit an entire day at office after being awake till 3am the previous night? It is possible but not a necessity so why bother.

After reaching home I helped mum make Gulab Jamuns which turned out way too good. It is fun to make your own sweet dishes so we made few others as well. You could call it a tradition that we have, to eat something sweet at the stroke of twelve. It is supposed to keep you “sweet” round the year. It is kind of sweet isn’t it?

May 2016 be kind to the world, we all are in dire need of some sort of miracle to tone down the hatred and cruelty to bring love back. Also nature is getting pretty angry, quiet evidently, 2015 rocked the Himalayas and our coastal areas were not spared either. Times of distress but every one helped each other and things started getting back on track. Wounds take their time to heal but with support at least the time passes smoothly.

Talk about time flying by, feels like not long ago I was celebrating the arrival of 2015. Oh maybe it is just my vivid memory, but I remember things pretty clearly. Just because I remember it all so well does not mean that my past year was uneventful. It brought with it tides of change that literally kept hitting me one after the other.

January went quietly and I faced a few setbacks.February was all too good with my cousin’s wedding but March brought only bad news. April got us another happy occasion not to mention the tremors that shook us one after the other. And May was just too hot so was June. Well, July was the same but at least It got me my first job. August did not bring monsoon and September joined in. October did not know it was fall and suddenly it was Diwali (in November). And can you believe December, Christmas and New year’s eve, were like this past week. Wow! winter is almost gone.

There were devastating times and some amazing times but all in all I am going to box up the memories of 2015 with a label that reads Bleh!! It got really annoying, after all it was my first time in the real world post-school and Uni. On the bright side, I have found new strengths in me that I never knew I had. At times, I had to fake my smiles and hide my anger but I think if you keep pushing the boundaries, that you defined yourself in the first place, there won’t be any boundaries. And at the end you learn to be genuinely happy. Not meaning that you start putting up with other’s idiocy but simply let them be.

People and things do not change before it is their time so we should change instead. Forgive, do not forget and find the peace within. Happy 2016 lovely people!

Now, I am gonna go and amuse myself with the coffee-break discussions on the new odd-even driving plan that just got implemented. The talk of the town I tell you.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “In hindsight.

  1. Pingback: The moon is beautiful, isn’t it? | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

